Follow:
Product Roundup, Shop With Me

40+ Black-Owned Businesses to Discover and Support

Over the last week, I’ve done a lot of thinking on how I can be a valuable resource to the black community. How can I use my platform that is usually filled with frivolous things like beauty, fashion, home, and wellness to discuss a much heavier, underlying issue in our community? After a lot of reading and listening, I realized that everyone’s voices will sound different and everyone’s unique way to share support during this time will look different.

For me, that meant looking at what I’m good at – and where I’ve fallen short. Finding clothes, beauty products, homewares and other goods that make life colorful and joyful is what I love doing and likely why you found me. But I realize over time, I have fallen into a comfort zone of sharing the same major retailers over and over again – instead of finding new, emerging, smaller ones. This includes black owned businesses.

Over the last few days, I’ve gone down a new and exciting rabbit hole of businesses that I’ve never seen before. There have been a lot of helpful Instagram posts listing new accounts to discover. (I did notice that some got repetitive with the same businesses featured over and over.) To go a step further, I started clicking through the comments of those posts where people were tagging even more black-owned businesses. There I found some really exceptional ones that I felt are a perfect fit for APOL and YOU.

Below, I’m sharing below 40+ black-owned business to discover and support below. As I started to click through the sites, I realized A LOT of them are already sold out of product which is amazing! If you find ones you like, please bookmark them to visit later when restocked! I’ll be adding more as I find them as well.

If you’re looking for more resources, this is one of the most helpful that I’ve come across this week:

Black Lives Matter Resources + Action Items


black-owned businesses to discover and support


BABY + KIDS

Pretty Please Teethers / @prettypleaseteethers / ordered paci clips for Bennett

Harper Iman Dolls / @harperiman / handmade linen keepsake dolls

Truth and Gold / @weartruthandgold / children + adult tees + a stellar reading list


BEAUTY + WELLNESS

Makeup By Meggan / @makeupbymeggan / have her foundation + setting powder

Carol’s Daughter / @carolsdaughter / body + haircare

Briogeo Hair / @briogeo / award-winning clean + conscious haircare

Beauty Bakerie / @beautiebakerymakeup / sweets-themed + SO cute

The Lip Bar / @thelipbar / vegan, cruelty-free makeup picked up by Target

Golde / @golde / superfoods for beauty + wellness

Mented Cosmetics / @mentedcosmetics / vegan, paraben-free, non-toxic

Black Girl Sunscreen / @blackgirlsunscreen / now available at Target

Oui The People / @ouithepeople / shaving and bodycare

The Honey Pot / @thehoneypot / feminine care products

KNC Beauty / @kncbeauty / CUTEST eye masks, lip masks, lip scrubs!


HOME

Rayo and Honey / @rayoandhoney / Homewares with positive intent

Clare Paint / @clarepaint / Zero VOC paint and supplies

Tactile Matter / @tactilematter / homewares and art

The Zen Succulent / @thezensucculent / plant and succulent shop

The Jungalow / @thejungalow / home decor and homewares


black-owned businesses to discover and support


CLOTHING + ACCESSORIES

Brother Vellies Shoes / @brothervellies / handcrafted designer accessories

Peace Images Jewelry / @peaceimagesjewelry / curated gold jewelry

Sincerely Tommy / @sincerelytommy_ / clothing and accessories

Nomadic Citizen / @nomadic_citizen / handmade artisan goods

H Kyle / @shophkyle / local Baton Rouge store

The Tiny Tassel / @thetinytassel / the most fun + colorful earrings

West London Boutique / @westlondonbtq / local New Orleans store

Andrea Iyamah / @andreaiyamah / Swooning over everything here

Dynasty George / @dynastygeorge / beautiful dresses + uplifting IG feed

Hanifa Official / @hanifaofficial / unique ready-to-wear designs

Grass Fields / @grass_fields / beautiful + unique textile patterns

 Twelve AM Shoes / @twelveam.co / really into these slides

Meow and Barks Boutique / @meowandbarksboutique / bright + colorful pieces

Love Cortnie / @lovecortnie /

Salt N Sunscreen Swim / @saltnsunscreen / love this one piece + this bikini

ZOU XOU / @zouxou / ethical, small batch shoes

Tree Fairfax / @treefairfax / handmade leather handbags

Sweats By Sam / @sweatsbysam / hand-dyed loungewear sets


LAGNIAPPE

Cause Box / @causebox / curated, socially-conscious products

McBride Sisters Wine / @mcbridesisters / black-owned, women-owned wine company

The Cupcake Collection / @thecupcakecollection / location in New Orleans!

Trade Street Jam Co. / @tradestjamco / their feed makes me SO hungry

Aya Paper Co. / @ayapaperco / 100% recycled stationery + gifts


Have one to add to the list? Please leave below, send via DM on IG, or email me!

Share:
Previous Post Next Post

2 Comments

  • Reply Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog

    Thank you for posting this! Definitely going to check these businesses out! ❤️✨

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

    June 5, 2020 at 12:45 am
  • Reply Erin

    Pottery by Osa is a Baton Rouge pottery shop with such pretty pieces.

    https://www.etsy.com/shop/PotterybyOsa?ref=pr2018_faveshops

    June 5, 2020 at 9:15 am
  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.